top of page

RECENT POSTS

The Never Ending Story

Again, it's been a while since I've posted and in all honesty I've been trying to find the energy to write this entry, but I've just received some inspiration in the mail - I'll explain in my next post.

For this post I want to focus on how important it is to look after yourself and to make sure that if something doesn't seem right then you go and get it checked. Back in May I asked my doctor for some blood tests as I was getting aches in my joints and wanted to check my Vitamin levels. I'd received a letter in the post asking me to go in and discuss my results and when I went to book my appointment the receptionist had mentioned she had my blood results in front of her and everything looked okay, just needed to talk about my Vitamin levels. So, I wasn't in a rush to get an appointment and discuss it.

Silly me. I finally spoke with a doctor on Friday who looked concerned when she read through my history, saw my blood results and then checked my skin. It turns out I need to go for more tests and I may actually have Psoriatic Arthritis. She also noted that my blood pressure was high which was another concern for her.

Although this news hit me quite hard, I must admit that I was relieved to see a GP who actually took the time to listen and make sure that I got all the help I needed. She wrote me four prescriptions for different ointments and asked that I make sure to have regular check-ups.

I wasn't too happy to be given the Capasal shampoo as it makes my hair stink of coal tar, but it does work wonders. Dovobet I have used before and the last time I did it cleared my skin right up. However, it only comes in small tubes and is a steroid gel, which means you can only use it for a certain amount of time. This is why I have been given Dovonex to move on to once the Dovobet is used up. Hydromol is great, but it is VERY greasy (which is what works best), so in this weather it makes me feel disgusting and sticky. Despite all my moaning, I am grateful to be given all of this from my GP. Below are some images of how my skin currently is...only legs & arms as I don't want to frighten people with the rest of my body. The plan is to use the treatment and take photos to show my progress. I hope that this will then encourage others to speak with their doctors and if needs be DEMAND you get the help you need. I have put this off for too long and now it may have caused more damage than I had realised. Fingers crossed the bloods come back with good news.

Why not subscribe so that

you never miss an update.

Email

bottom of page