top of page

RECENT POSTS

Old English Company - Review

Once again, it's been a while since I've posted and that's due to a lot of changes in my life and being very busy. I have SO many new posts to get up here and a load to update you all on, but for now I am going to start off with an easy post which I have been meaning to do for a while.

A few months back I received an email from someone who works at Old English Company.

"Hi there!

I hope you don't mind us contacting you out of the blue like this. We love what you're doing and wondered if you'd be interested in receiving receiving up to £50 worth of Old English Company products or your choice to review. In return for the products, we would ask that you do the following: - Produce and share on social media a minimum of 1 high-quality photos of the products (that Old English Company is free to use as they wish). - Create a short blog post or add a review on an already planned blog post, including the pictures and some thoughts about the products, along with a clickable link back to the Old English Company - oldenglishprints.com - website within 3 weeks. If you are interested, please get back to me confirming that (1) you are able to meet both requirements (the images and the blog post), (2) a link to the products you would like along with any details of colour or variation and (3) your shipping address :-) I very much hope to hear from you soon.

Best wishes,

Ben"

I was so excited to receive this email as although I have done some guest blogs in the past, they have been focused on Psoriasis or Mental Health, which is what this blog is mainly about. I immediately checked out their website and replied to them with the items I would like to review. It wasn't easy as I could have happily asked for everything they have to offer.

Not long after I got all the products in the post. It was SO exciting.

So, let's take a look.

THE ITEMS - **CLICK ON THE IMAGES TO BE LINKED TO THE PRODUCT**

BIG SPOON LITTLE SPOON PILLOW CASES

So, my first choice was some new pillow cases (they're not actually that ones I asked for, but that's all good. *see below*)

The pillow cases say 'Big Spoon' and 'Little Spoon' in a black hand lettered typographic.

Material:

100% cotton. Machine washable, iron on reverse of printed side.

Dimensions:

48cm x 76cm

Thoughts:

The cases were lovely and soft on the first time of use and didn't cause any sort of irritation - which is a huge bonus when you have sensitive skin.

I'm a bit useless and although I'm in my 30's I still don't own an iron and these tend to come out rather wrinkly after a wash, so if you're big on having perfect looking bedding then you will want to iron them. I'm not that fussy as they're seen by myself and Mitchell.

I love the simplicity of the pillow cases and all the others which are on offer here.

They would make a great gift for couples who have just moved in together, a wedding gift, or anniversary gifts.

I did actually ask for the pillow cases below, but was sent the spoon ones instead for some reason. However, I didn't complain as I received these items for free and I also think they're pretty adorable.

IMPORTANT THINGS A5 NOTEPAD

I'm very good at forgetting the important things in life and do need to plan my days to make sure I am getting everything done - sadly, it doesn't always work that way.

I am a sucker for stationary, so when I saw this note pad on the site I just knew I needed to add it to the list.

Material:

Thick 100 gsm paper with grey board backing. The notepad has 50 pages.

Dimensions:

A5 (21cm x 14.5cm)

THOUGHTS:

I enjoy how basic it is whilst allowing you to keep track of the important, *and not so important things, whilst breaking it down daily and providing little boxes to tick off tasks which you've completed. As it's A5 it's a perfect size and the pages are easy to detach if you need to carry a page around with you when going away for a few days instead of packing the whole pad.

You can see their whole gorgeous stationary range here.

BREAD BOARD

I never really treat myself to anything nice for the kitchen and our chopping boards are just cheap plastic ones which could probably do with replacing, so when I saw this bread board I jumped at the opportunity of getting it.

Material:

Made from hard wearing melamine. NOT dishwasher safe so should be hand washed.

Dimensions:

25cm (w) x 29cm (h)

5mm thick

THOUGHTS:

It's not that big so if you have a long loaf you may make a bit of a bit mess, however, there is a convenient hole at the top of the paddle which makes it great for hanging up on the wall, so even if you decide not to use it as a bread board it makes a nice bit of decoration for the kitchen.

Again, I love the simplicity of it and the hand lettered typographic. It's light, easy to clean, and really stands out in my kitchen. It would make a great gift for pretty much anyone and is currently a sale item reduced from £14.95 to £5.23.

Have a look at all the homewares they offer here.

C'EST BON COASTER

I have a big love for France and anything French but this item is actually a gift for my sister. We tend to say 'C'est Bon' to each other quite a lot so I thought it would be a nice little treat for her and her new-ish flat. I have a HUGE love for coasters but I think I have now reached capacity, but this company makes it very hard not to buy even more of them.

Material:

Hard high gloss front with cork backing. Hand wash only.

Dimensions:

9.5 x 9.5cm

THOUGHTS:

Tricky to review a coaster as they pretty much do what you expect them to do, but as you can probably gather by now, I love all the styles of these products. I think the typographic on this one in particular is really eye-catching and without having to add colour it still provides a positive and bold message. As I mentioned, this item is a gift and would make a great gift or edition to any home, or even office.

You can browse full all the wonderful coasters and placemats here.

Last but by no means least...

ENAMEL PINS

GROW THROUGH WHAT YOU GO THROUGH & PUMPKIN

I am a HUGE lover of enamel pins, badges, and patches, have been for many years, and as you may know they have definitely grown in popularity again over the past few years. These guys have a beautiful selection at really great prices, which you can have a look at here.

GROW THROUGH WHAT YOU GO THROUGH ENAMEL PIN

Material:

Hard black enamel with rubber stopper.

Dimensions:

Unknown.

THOUGHTS:

This pin looks great and gives you and anyone else reading a wonderful positivity boost. It's light-weight and not too big in size. My only problem with this pin, and the others, is that the rubber stoppers kept coming off - luckily when this happened whilst I was out and about the pin fell off in to my bag. I have a pot full of metal stoppers at home so was easily able to change them, but do be aware of this if your pin comes with a rubber stopper.

PUMPKIN ENAMAL PIN

What can I say, I'm a huge Halloween fiend and will buy most things which have a pumpkin on them.

Material:

Hard orange enamel and black nickel plating.

Dimensions:

28mm (approx 1.1") in height.

Review:

I mean, just look at it. What an utterly adorable pumpkin. Again, same issue with the rubber stopper, but very light-weight and just a treat to look at.

I adore all the products I received from Old English Company and will definitely be buying more items in the future, especially as presents for people. They also have a fantastic range of greeting cards which you can view here.

Their website is extremely easy to navigate and all products are broken down in to convenient sections such as, 'stationary', 'accessories', 'home' and there is also a gift guide for an array of celebrations. They deliver Worldwide and have an Express Delivery option available and there is currently an up to 50% off sale on. (please note that this sale is being promoted on the date this post is written so may not be the same at a later point).

Thank you so much to the staff at Old English Company for this opportunity and I cannot wait to see new products from you in the future.

OLD ENGLISH COMPANY SOCIAL MEDIA:

Why not subscribe so that

you never miss an update.

Email

bottom of page